GFA President Leads Other Exco Members For 42nd CAF Ordinary General Assembly

President Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku, Vice President Mark Addo and General Secretary Prosper Harrison Addo (Esq) will on Friday, December 11, 2020, represent the Ghana Football Association at the 42nd CAF Ordinary General Assembly.

The 42nd Ordinary General Assembly which was initially scheduled to be held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, will now take place via online due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The General Assembly is being held online as a result of the travel restrictions in certain parts of the continent.

The following are among the items on the agenda:

The appointment of auditors as appropriate:

presentation of audited statement of accounts, the activity report covering the period since the previous General Assembly Meeting inclusive of the zonal unions’ activity report.

Discussion of proposals received from National Associations and Executive Committee, approval of the annual revised accounts and budget.

Meanwhile, The CAF Executive Committee held a meeting on Thursdsay 10 December in Cairo.

The committee approved major reforms aimed at better ways of combating corruption and bad governance, protecting the integrity of the game, as well as several measures in response to the health crisis linked to the Coronavirus.

At the opening of the meeting, the members of the Committee observed a minute of silence in memory of the members of the confederation, who died in recent weeks, namely:

General Séyi Mémène, former CAF Vice-President and Mr. Augustin Sidy Diallo, President of the Ivorian Football Federation.


The Executive Committee has decided to propose to the General Assembly of CAF to grant the status of Honorary President of CAF to Mr. Issa Hayatou, the renowned personality of African football for his work.

This distinguished leader presided over CAF for 30 years – from 1987 to 2017 – and this honour salutes his immense role in the development of African football.



The Committee took note of the last inspection visit report on infrastructure (stadiums, training grounds and hotels) which took place in October 2020 in Cameroon.

The three host cities of the competition, Yaoundé, Douala and Limbe received CAF delegation visit.

The Committee notes with satisfaction that the host country is ready to host the event.


The Committee listened to the report of the inspection visit to infrastructure (stadiums, training grounds and hotels) in Côte d’Ivoire.

It noted that the various projects should be completed before the announced deadlines.

The Committee congratulated the host country for this satisfactory development.


The Committee approved the regulations for the Women’s Champions League which will be organized annually according to the following guidelines:

  • The champion club of the last edition of the national league in each association will enter by request from the association.
  • If the national league has not been organized, the national association takes responsibility for appointing a representative.
  • The qualifiers will be organized in CAF six (6) zones.
  • The final tournament will bring together representatives from each zone and will comply with all CAF competitions.
  • The zone of the title holding club will enter 2 teams.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *